top of page

The Wonder Boy of Whistle Stop

Author: Fannie Flagg

Started: Jul. 26, 2021

Finished: Jul. 30, 2022

The gang from Whistle Stop has moved on or passed away but that doesn't stop those who remain from remembering the good times fondly.

The life of Ninny (Idgie) Threadgoode is told in a series of moments and remembrances as the new generation of characters live their own lives. Bud, Ruth's son, is now grown with a family of his own and a career as a veterinarian. His daughter, Ruthie, has children of her own and after her husband's death has to care for her father and figure out what to do with her life. Evelyn Couch has made huge changes in her life since we first met her in Fried Green Tomatoes. She has learned she has the ability to sell any product and becomes a star in her own right.

It was a well-told story that wrapped up the lives of the characters beautifully. It was like visiting an old friend and getting to see how amazing their lives turned out. I have enjoyed every Fannie Flagg book that I've read and find the audiobooks are a wonderful way to spend a day at my desk.

11 views0 comments
bottom of page